Band Website:
Captain Beefheart

Band Members:

Rockette Morton (Mark Boston) -- bass, guitar
Drumbo (John French) -- vocals, drums, percussion
Denny "Feelers Rebo" Walley -- guitar, slide guitar
Gary Lucas -- guitar, slide guitar
Michael Traylor -- drums, percussion

Captain Beefheart was a name that I had heard in musical circles but I had never really experienced any of his work. It wasn't until I watched this video that I got a really good idea of his work and I must say his style of music was very unique. His music was a bit like literature. You either got it or you didn't. Once he was finished with his musical career he embarked on a painting career and apparently hasn't looked back since. I was a bit surprised that he didn't get interviewed for this DVD. It would have been interesting to see his take on things. I think it's a very comprehensive DVD and covers all the bases and I was really impressed with it.